Thursday, January 10, 2013

War Tax Resistance IS Courage

Cindy Sheehan's Soapbox
Community Call-in Show

“If a thousand men were not to pay their tax-bills this year, that would not be a violent and bloody measure, as it would be to pay them, and enable the State to commit violence and shed innocent blood. This is, in fact, the definition of a peaceable revolution, if any such is possible.”

Henry David Thoreau




WHEN: Tuesday, January 15
TIME: 5-6 pm (Pacific)
6-7 pm (Mountain)
7-8 pm (Central)
8-9 pm (Eastern)
WHERE: The comfort from your own phone

GUESTS: Ed Hedemann (NWTRCC)
Ruth Benn (Director of NWTRCC)


Also...more War Tax Resisters will give their story and testimony
about WHY and HOW they refuse to pay for war.

      
NUMBER: 218 632 0995
CODE:   73223#

If you have any questions or comments, please email Cindy at
CindySheehansSoapbox@gmail.com

Everyone except the speakers will be muted to guarantee a good quality recording.

The call will be recorded to be played on 
Sunday, January 20
and archived forever!



       

2 comments:

  1. When Thoreau languished in jail for nonpayment of taxes Emerson happened by the jail on his morning walk. Espying Thoreau at the window of the jail Emerson asked,"what are you doing in there, Henry?" The response came quickly,"what are you doing out there, Ralph?"

    Rickd

    ReplyDelete
  2. I plan to call in. I found out about this on The Picket Line, a blog by David Gross that focuses on war tax resistance. It's worth taking a look:
    http://sniggle.net/Experiment/index5.php?entry=15Jan13

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.